32 New Full-Time Firefighters Ready for Duty Following CRFD Graduation

Columbia-Richland Fire Chief Aubrey D. Jenkins swore in 32 new full-time firefighters with the department as commencement exercises for CRFD Recruit Class 2021-01 were held on the evening of Wednesday, December 22 at Dreher High School.

29 members of class 21-01 were officially badged by Chief Jenkins after completing weeks of training at the department’s fire academy. Three volunteer firefighters with the department were also recognized as they completed required training to become full-time firefighters with CRFD.

‚ÄúI have the honor of presiding over these graduations every year and with each one the sense of immense pride I have in our recruits is just as strong,‚ÄĚ Chief Jenkins said, ‚ÄúCompleting weeks of training at our academy is no small feat but another class of our recruits has done it at a time when the world is continuing to face major hurdles due to the ongoing health crisis. I applaud these newly sworn firefighters and I look forward to following their careers with CRFD in the months and years ahead.‚ÄĚ

Several awards were handed out during the ceremony to recruits who performed exceptionally well during their training. Recruit Ryan Sesty was honored with the Maltese Cross Award while Recruit Demetrius Gardner received the Bryan P. Roberts Academic Achievement Award.

Friends and family members of the recruits were able to attend the graduation. All guests in attendance were required to wear masks and adhere to COVID-19 preventative guidelines.


(left: CRFD Fire Chief Aubrey D. Jenkins with Recruit Demetrius Gardner; right: Chief Jenkins with Recruit Ryan Sesty)


The Columbia-Richland Fire Department extends its congratulations to our new full-time firefighters.



Mikiah Baker                                                                         Eduardo Mora

Elijah Blackwelder                                                               Trenton O’Rafferty

Joshua Campor                                                                    William Oswalt

John Christmus                                                                    Alexander Papalazarou

Hailey Crawford                                                                   Dustin Parthemore

Taylor Crews                                                                        Ryan Sesty

Nicholas Demko                                                                   Braeden Slater

Robert Tremain Durant                                                       Trever Sulser

Nicholas Finley                                                                    Tristan Tucker

Scott Fostel                                                                           Waylon Wolcott

William Gambrell                                                                  William Young IV

Demetrius Gardner

Isaiah Gates

Omar Flores Gill

Benjamin Hogue

Donovaun Jamison

Daniel Johnson

Chandler Miles



Desiree Colon                      Justin Gallman                     Nathan Phillips